“The press is the enemy.” – Richard M. Nixon

Today our warm-up was “Cindy-ish”… as many rounds as possible in 10 mins. of 5 pullups, 10 pushups, 15 squats, and 1 burpee sprint, then we moved on to the WOD. Today it was un-timed: press 1-1-1-1-1, push press 3-3-3-3-3, push jerk 5-5-5-5-5. It was my first real opportunity to establish 1- and 3-rep maxes for myself so I paired up with another woman and kind of went along with what she was doing.

Press we did 45 then 55 and I failed at my first attempt at 65. Coach Dawn said it was just because my brain wasn’t used to it yet so I tried again and got it. We moved up to 67 but I only got it with a minor push so Dawn had me jump back down to 65 for my last set. I really have to work on only using my arms to get the bar up… apparently I have a bad tendency to get my body into it (a la push press).

Push press we did 45, 55, 65, and 75. For the 5th round I tried 85 and was nowhere near getting it, so jumped back down to 80 for an extra set but it just wasn’t happening today.

Though you should technically be able to push jerk way more than you press, Dawn said that wasn’t going to happen at the end of the workout so we started at 35 and moved up 10# each set. I finished at 75#, though it was a broken set. I must make it look scary when I can’t get the weight up because Dawn kept asking me if I was okay on my failures and then at the end told me that she really needs to teach me how to drop the bar.

The challenge today was a prowler push two turf lengths with 50# on it. Very fun little race, and left me with a nice burn in my quads and glutes.

In exciting news (for me), my custom jumprope came in the mail yesterday and it is AWESOME!

My new custom jumprope! 101 in. long, 3.4-oz. cable

The handles are really comfortable and I couldn’t believe how fast it is! The downside to that, though, is that it hurts a LOT more when you miss a doubleunder :). It’s a “Ropes as RX” jumprope ordered from Rogue Fitness online, a company affiliated with a crossfit gym in Ohio and whose gear many of the crossfit heavy hitters rep. The measuring instructions were very easy to follow and the service was especially quick — I had actually already received my rope in the mail before the shipping tracking numbers were even valid. Needless to say I love it and can’t wait to get working on my skills!

Leave a comment